Skip to content

The Narrative of the Player Character: Introduction

May 10, 2011
by

This post went through a number of iterations and rewrites before I ultimately concluded it was a topic too big for a single article and needed to be presented in parts. I hope this intro proves enticing!

A major component of any story is character. In a typical book or film we experience the narrative through the eyes of a specific character, or group of characters, but the RPG takes a different approach. As players, we must create and manage our own characters, and take the experience of the world into our own hands. The narrative is then seen through the eyes of a player character.

Player characters primarily experience narrative in WoW via quests. Quests drive the story in a big way; they give you insight into a situation and they give you a method for dealing with it. Quests are, by nature, player-centric, even with the occasional addition of an NPC guide or ally. Because of this, in many ways, a player is the main character of the World of Warcraft story. This arrangement is fantastic in terms of immersion, however, there are ways in which this approach breaks down, as well.

The first inconsistency is the fact that every player is completing the same quests. There are differences based on faction separation, low-level starting zones, and (once upon a time) class-specific quests as well, but for the most part, you are capable of completing every quest available to your faction. At high levels, many quest hubs are neutral and identical for both Horde and Alliance players. In other words, we are all the main characters.

The second inconsistency is the fact that, even though the gameplay is written with our player characters at its center, Blizzard can only obliquely acknowledge us in the story. Once Blizzard officially names a character, it is no longer a player character, it is a non-player character. Thus we become “the heroes” or “the adventurers,” but we are never specific and we are never individuals, which is somewhat inconsistent with the whole idea of a hero. We remain an indeterminate group of people behind the scenes. This reality stands in direct conflict to the conclusion of the previous paragraph that we are all the main characters.

So, where do our player characters stand? Last week, Selkatnet asked that very same question on the general forums. As I was writing, my original thesis was that player characters effectively do not exist in WoW, period. We just aren’t there. As luck would have it, about a day before I was planning to publish my post, this blue response went up on the general forums that directly undermined my argument. As it turns out, to Blizzard, we do, in fact, exist. But how do we exist, and to what extent?

Originally, my main arguments against the existence of player characters were: 1) it doesn’t make much sense for player characters to exist from a lore perspective and 2) Blizzard has written player characters out of a narrative in the past. The reason it doesn’t make sense for player characters to exist is because it inevitably ties the narrators’ hands. It’s extremely hard to write a story in which you can’t name a main character or give them any defining traits, such as heritage or personality. Furthermore, WoW already has plenty of main characters: Jaina Proudmoore, Thrall, Tirion Fordring, Tyrande Whisperwind, Lady Vashj, Brann Bronzebeard, Magatha Grimtotem…you get the point. Logically, story-wise, player characters seem more like flies on a wall—we get to run around in Azeroth and experience the world, but the story in fact exists outside us. This ties into my argument #2. Player characters defeated Onyxia in WoW’s original release, however, in the official narrative, it’s Varian and a group of other, named NPCs who do the job. There was actually a fair amount of uproar in certain fan communities when this became the case, because players were upset that their contributions to Azeroth had been erased. To me, the fact that Blizzard was willing to write PCs out of the narrative only cemented my former stance that we don’t exist.

But it turns out that’s not the case. So, what follows is the question of “How do we fit in?” or “What is our place in Azeroth?” As stated before, player characters are great heroes, however if I quit the game tomorrow and never logged in again, Azeroth would in no way be affected and the story would continue just fine without my character, so she is also inconsequential. Yet, if everybody quit the game tomorrow the story of WoW would grind to a halt and evaporate. The paradox of the collective is that, while no one individual has any substantial worth, the group as a whole is indispensable.

One way to examine how player characters fit into the narrative is to look at how Blizzard tells the stories that don’t directly involve any player characters at all. The extended universe products are fairly traditional-style media; books and comics that are structured and executed like any other book or comic. The omission of player character-related story lines allows those products fill in gaps that player characters can’t experience (though there are exceptions) such as Jaina’s personal interactions with Anduin Wrynn (as told in The Shattering) or Khadgar’s time spent training under Medivh (The Last Guardian). The one major exception to this that I can think of is a big chunk of Varian’s story as told in the comic, which culminates in the slaying of Onyxia, as previously discussed. Much of that arc’s narrative comes straight out of player-available (or formerly player-available) material from the game, such as the quest to free Marshall Windsor and a big part of “The Missing Diplomat” quest chain, as well.

The intersection of Varian’s narrative with the players’ stands out precisely because it’s so rare. So-called major lore figures tend to be the focus of the books and comics, and their stories remain almost entirely separate from those of the player characters in-game. Ultimately, there is a fundamental division of story throughout Azeroth. There is the story that centers player characters, and there is the story that centers Blizzard’s NPCs. Of course, there are multiple sub-plots throughout each, but that is the basic narrative split. I don’t think this divide is unique to Azeroth, in fact, it occurs to me that the push and pull of the narrators versus the players is an aspect of any interactive story, and that is something I hope to examine further in my next post!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 5:47 pm

    Interesting. I am currently writing an assignment about solo play in WoW, and your run down of the quest narratives in WoW is very accurately why some players prefer to quest alone, for the sake of a story that allows them a sense of being -the- hero, not the 120th.
    Good stuff, looking forward to the next parts of the series.

  2. Lani permalink*
    May 10, 2011 8:27 pm

    Oh, that sounds like a neat paper. Are you planning on discussing the topic on your blog at all? I very definitely trend toward solo questing as my main WoW timesink because I’ve always played games for the story, and questing is how I experience the story. I honestly hadn’t thought of the draw of being a hero as much, but that certainly makes sense.

    If you don’t mind me asking, what kind of conclusions have you drawn about solo play in WoW? I’m interested to hear more.

  3. Katherinne permalink
    May 10, 2011 8:28 pm

    While reading through this, I was reminded of the AQ buildup where we the players had to gather materials. Would the gates have opened had we not met the goal? From what I understand, they would not since many realms were behind others and therefore I assume did not have a predetermined date. So PC’s did matter in that instance.
    And my understanding is that Deathwing will stop terrorizing Azeroth after a guild stops him in some way, they’ve been pretty vague with the how.

    After my experience with Star Wars lore, I take a lot of WoW’s lore with a grain of salt anyway. In the Star Wars universe, you had a lot of people writing books all having the stamp of approval from Lucasfilm, yet when George Lucas made the prequels, he changed a lot of what had been considered lore: how the force was perceived and understood, certain details about characters, etc. My reaction was to stop reading the expanded universe books because I couldn’t trust them to be lore.

    I remember when I made my first Death Knight, there was something in the final encounter with the Lich King where there was an allusion to the fact that there was something under Light’s Hope Chapel and that Arthas was afraid of it. I remember looking it all up at wowwiki. When I made my second DK, that part of the story had been changed. I don’t think I dreamed the thing up, I think it was changed for some reason. Or maybe I’m crazy. :)

  4. Lani permalink*
    May 10, 2011 8:45 pm

    Katherine–AQ and related events are something I definitely want to tackle in this series. It probably won’t appear in my next post, but the one after that. To preview, I feel that there’s certainly been a shift in how player characters integrate into Azeroth in terms of the game design, and I plan on examining that shift and then discussing some of the potential reasons behind it. The AQ gates did open automatically on all existing servers after a set period (I think it was 4-6 weeks? My WoWpedia-fu is failing me atm), but I know that during TBC any new servers that were added had closed gates at first, and anyone who had completed the chain could transfer and hit the gong for the mount/title.

    Raids are an interesting part of the story, too, because ostensibly they’re completed by player characters, one of those “group of brave adventurers” type things, but Blizz did overwrite the circumstances of the Onyxia raid, so it’s possible they’d do it again if they felt it enhanced the story in some way. As you mentioned with the Star Wars expanded universe, there are definitely pitfalls there with the WoW stuff too, in terms of lore. I know over the past few years Blizzard has hired a team whose entire job it is to keep all that stuff straight and develop the ancillary products, so I think there’s more planning/consistency now than there has been in the past.

    I didn’t know that at all about the DK chain! I completed it really early on in Wrath, but haven’t done it again since. I too remember the line about there being something holy under Light’s Hope than undermined Arthas’ power, interesting that they’d take it out!

  5. Katherinne permalink
    May 10, 2011 9:22 pm

    Lani,
    Thank you for confirming that about the DK chain, I remembered it because it was so intriguing to me. I think I remember there being speculation that one of the swords was there but Wowwiki at the time had very little on it. So I was saddened to see it removed. I created my DK right away which was well before ICC was released so I guess once they decided how they wanted to kill him, that detail wasn’t relevant anymore. Who knows?

    The gates stayed closed longer than 4 weeks on Elune, seemed like they were maybe at six. But I remember when it was all live, there was a list of server standings. Ours was about 13th or so and many weren’t open after ours did. I also wonder if (as with so many things) when BC was released, they changed the server’s gate opening to be a predetermined event since it was old content at that point.

    I’ve recently discovered your site and am really enjoying it. Questing and Lore are my favorite things in the game along with raiding (almost seems incongruent), the topics that fascinate me are the dragonflight and the Titans.
    That road that runs from Dragonblight to Ulduar, what happened there, for instance. :)

  6. May 11, 2011 6:44 am

    Katherinne, I’m equally curious about what that road is about! And the NPC who wanders (wandered?) around it. It’s implied he’s related to the Curse of Flesh but we don’t really know how. Funny that you mention Star Wars – Mr Cat and I do re-watches of the films very regularly and the more we watch them, the more I make him pause it and answer my questions about continuity fail that I notice (he’s been a Star Wars geek since he was 14). I want to know what’s going on about minutiae! SORT IT OUT, LUCAS!

    I also think the AQ questline is an interesting phenomenon – I sort of poked at this on Twitter a bit since I plan to write about changes in questing models myself a bit later on. Something that’s been on my mind recently is how the AQ questline and the Hyjal quests accomplish some pretty major things in terms of game lore, but do so through DRASTICALLY different means. I personally prefer the former, but I know a lot of the playerbase is happy about the latter, because they feel more able to be involved/participatory in the story.

    (I could probably turn this comment into a whole post, so I’ll stop before I get ahead.)

  7. May 11, 2011 6:46 am

    Also, Katherinne — why do you feel that your interests in raiding and lore are incongruent? Please be aware that I’m definitely not being accusatory or anything, I’m genuinely curious about how people perceive their own involvement and “territory” within the game! :)

  8. May 11, 2011 7:16 am

    I remember reading many of the Forgotten Realms novels growing up and thinking similar thoughts about the Knights of Myth Drannor. Here are some player characters from a campaign who, because their GM happened to create a really great world and work for TSR, got their characters immortalized in print. Their stories made it into the canon of that world, mostly because they were there when it was created.

    The personal nature of Dungeons and Dragons was transcended, for a moment, when those PCs made it into fiction. The same thing happened with Dragonlance, if I remember correctly – many of the characterizations we see in the novels originated in the minds of the players of the original Heroes of the Lance.

    Yet these examples just show how personal AD&D really could. It was a story told through the actions of a small group of people, and the world could be adjusted to fit. An expansion came out that contradicted your story? Ignore it. Adapt it. Retcon your story if you wanted. It’s up to the will of the group as collective storytellers to determine what was canon and what was not.

    This style of personal storytelling isn’t unique to D&D, of course. Any decent roleplaying setting gives players enough flavor to create the world, but even overarching storylines – I’m looking at you, White Wolf – could be made to fit in with your current story, in large part because players have control.

    WoW stands in direct opposition to this, and I have to say it’s been a very strange transition for me as a longtime RPG/LARPer. As you pointed out in your first inconsistency, the world itself is impersonal, and your actions – with very few exceptions, and they’re all phased – have no effect on the world you experience, and even those changes are for your world only. In the context of the world around me, my character’s actions don’t matter. I can’t ride into Goldshire on my undead rogue, kill Marshal Dugan, and cause chaos as the militia falls apart. The very first quests you do reinforce this point: here, go kill these wolves, they’re a threat. Oh look, they’re still there, but you have to pretend they’re not a threat anymore.

    My 5 year old son wanted to kill Bristlebark for hours in the Tauren starting area, because CAN’T YOU SEE THEY’RE STILL ATTACKING DAD? Why can’t we rescue more braves? Why can’t we ride in the Shredder again? Why can’t we bounce through the minefield again?

    (Okay, we can still bounce through the minefield. But he REALLY wants to ride the Shredders again.)

    The necessities of gameplay in an MMO requires suspension of disbelief on a constant, regular basis, if you want to tell a coherent story to a single person. I think this leads directly into your second inconsistency, that Blizzard can’t consider player characters as anything other than supporting actors on the stage. Their storytelling style is more Campbellian than Roddenberryian; by having major lore figures continue to drive the story, all focus must go to them in the tale, even as the events in game directly contradict the metaplot. Demigods stride across the land of Warcraft – sometimes, we can take on their roles (Warcraft III), but when we do, it’s not us, it’s them.

    Who killed the Lich King? I did. I fucking got the killing blow on that bastard. It was my Immolate tick that ended Arthas’s life, it was our raid that downed him. This is a true fact, one that exists in the game, one that cannot be disputed. My group of 10 players, gathered from around the US and Canada, killed Arthas. Not Tirion. Not Varian. Not Thrall. My raid group did it.

    Yet, hundreds of thousands of other people can say the same thing. The personal nature of a RPG – where your actions matter – is rendered completely impersonal due to making it a shared experience.

    The best we can do, as storytellers, is continue to suspend our disbelief. Make it as personal as you can in your own tales. Ignore canon in favor of a good story. Screw the demigods of lore – they weren’t there. We were.

    We know what really happened.

    And even if, someday, some of us manage to become Elminster, or Tasslehoff?

    Well, at that point, the character’s an NPC. Time to retire.

  9. May 11, 2011 7:55 am

    Well, I think you’ve got to differ between the worlds storyline and your char’s personal storyline. And well, I kinda incooperated the whole “adventerous not named heroes” into the story lines.

    My main’s a disgrunteled Bloodelf paladin MERCANARY – seriously disgruntled, she hates the redemption part, because she bought hook-line-and-sinker into the whole “Show them how we dominate the light” basics.

    She doesn’t do politics, so she doesn’t want to be named. She doesn’t feel at home in Silvermoon anymore, so she wanders around and is anywhere where she can earn her income. She doesn’t care anymore about the peasant’s plight, she does her job and gets her rewards and goes away. She wouldn’t steal, or trick or treat others with anything less than perfect manners (hey, bloodelf – the apperances have to be kept up) – and she does quite some good despite grumpyness – but people she cares about are far an inbetween and in general limited to her ragtag bunch of adventerous, aka her raidgroup.

    She’s been there when arthas died, blocking his blows while others killed him, she still cannot stand Tyrion Fordring (she thinks of him as mr. Popsicle) and thinks the whole new-lichking-and-keep-that-a-secret thing is the most dumb move ever in the history of azaroth – but it’s fine, because it’s not in her character to make a fuss or try her hand in political maneouvring. Money can be found everywhere.

    Would she be a different character in, oh, for example a free form RPG? Yes, defintivly. She’d had more interaction with Fordring, for example, and maybe an arc where she challenges lady lidarian – she’d be definitivly a different character. More active, less withdrawn, but maybe with less concern about her few friends.

    But I can’t do those things in WoW, so the limits of the world/player has a lot of influence on her. It’s not that her character is limited – she DID grow into a direction that’s very different from my freeform RPG chars.

    It’s a boon to me, in a way. It made me a better characterwriter.

    Plus it’s interesting to play through how many different characters (aka alts) react to the same quests. Hunter, druid, Deathknight – different chars have different reactions, so I don’t mind repeating quests on different chars.

  10. Lani permalink*
    May 11, 2011 8:42 am

    @Cyn Oooh, I think you’ll like the next post I plan to do, then! I’m going to compare the way WoW’s player characters interact with the world to other RPG games, and yes, I’ll be using table tops and White Wolf games as examples, in addition to other video games. I think it’s really interesting the way different games approach and regulate player integration. White Wolf’s Camarilla is really fascinating because it’s all top down controlled, and all the player characters exist in a continuous universe. Also a neat point of comparison are the Lord of the Rings game universes (MERPS and LOTRO is what I’m thinking of, in particular) because Middle Earth is a completely static world.

    But I don’t want to spoil my post for next time, so I’m going to stop there. ;)

  11. May 11, 2011 9:00 am

    This post is awesome.

    As an RPer I spend a lot of time thinking about these very things, working my characters and their stories into the larger picture (and accounting for the occasional change or retcon). Balancing characters’ in-game accomplishments around both the story and the presence of so many others who want to incorporate those same experiences is tricksy.

    I’m looking forward to reading more!

  12. May 11, 2011 9:25 am

    @Cyn This is the comment you apologized for on twitter? I demand longer, Cyn! ;)
    This is actually kind of an interesting topic for me as well, as WoW was the first true multiplayer RPG I’d played (derail: I had parents who were strict about very particular things, and one of those things was that I was forbidden to play D&D; someone teach me, please!! I’ve wanted to learn for years but have been too embarrassed to admit I don’t know how, it’s like a blow to my geek cred, heh). Anyhow, Catulla is a balance druid, and I ended up really exploring her character because I wanted to understand what her reasoning was for choosing that path. I was probably getting hung up on mechanics a bit as moonkin use arcane spells and I was like DRUID ARCANE WAT THIS BREAKS LORE? At first, but it did offer that opportunity for me to think about who she was in a deeper context. Real life events shaped her story as well – I xferred to the EU servers for a while so I could raid, and had to think of a reason why Cat would have to re-level and re-learn all of her abilities.

    I think I might have mentioned this on Twitter as well, cant remember – but to build off of what you and Lani are saying, I think in some ways the resiliency of your character can be inversely proportional to the amount of flexibility that the game you’re playing permits. In WoW, there isn’t a lot of customization offered in terms of talent specialization – you’ve got your PVE raiding spec, PVP spec, sure; but how does that relate to you and your character’s own story? One thing that bugs me about WoW is that aside from the balance tree as a whole, I don’t feel that Cat’s specific abilities reflect much of who she is. I’m in the middle of DA:O right now, and I feel like the talent trees there offer a lot more in terms of how I want to shape and define my character (and my party). To get back to what I was saying about flexibility, I also need to think a lot harder about how my choices are going to impact the effectiveness of my party in combat. (Mr Cat said once that playing DA:O is like doing a five-man on your own, which I think there’s some truth in.)

    tl;dr with great power comes great responsibility ;)

    I’m not sure this makes sense, so let me know if it doesn’t! Like I said, there are aspects of RPing that I don’t have much experience with, and it’s only since I’ve started playing WoW that I’ve realized just how much they appeal to me.

  13. May 11, 2011 9:37 am

    I look forward to it!

    I have a post in the works which makes a point which you’re free to use: in other RPGs, you can change many things about your character – professions, influences, classes (in many cases) – but the one thing you can’t change is your race (and gender, to some extent). You can pick up a different line of work, but your character is consistent as a person. If I roll a male dwarf, he stays that way even if he loses his class (Paladin -> Warrior) or retires and becomes something different (say, picks up levels in Cleric.)

    In WoW, you can change everything about your character – race, gender, faction, appearance, name – but not their class. My Warlock can never decide to become a Mage, or a Paladin, but she can become a male blood elf from Eversong Woods.

    This is baffling when viewed from an RPG perspective. I mean, seriously, what?

  14. May 11, 2011 10:18 am

    @Cyn Your last point is really fascinating because I envisioned my shadow priest as a former mage. She stayed walled up in Dire Maul and eventually started listening to Immol’thar and picking up shadow magic. I was inspired by a Silithus quest in which the commander’s wife falls prey to C’thun’s whispers and becomes a shadowpriest.

    Of course, there’s no way to show this in the game, so all magic/spell development took place before I rolled her.

    As all of Flavor Text knows, my toons have odd hybrid backstories: the rogue fights demons, the warlock isn’t very skilled and just works at the Darkmoon Faire, the priest is a former mage, the mage tried to exile herself from the Highborne, the DK really misses being a warrior and Sentinel. And as someone that does raid and get server-firsts, one could argue that I’m ‘entitled’ to say that in my realm universe, I *did* kill all the major figures–my guild has the feat of strength, yay proof! But it just doesn’t make sense in my mind that these same 25 characters would be constantly physically and mentally healthy to constantly beat up villains, nor would they be the most invested characters for each and every major battle. I agree that my rogue did a lot in BT/Sunwell, but she has no real motivation in ICC.

    And I think it’s a lot of fun to incorporate RL details into backstories–it keeps it fresh and personal, instead of purely being another cliche. I wrote Cat a fic for her birthday in which I tied in some RL details about her awesome job :)

  15. May 11, 2011 10:30 am

    Argh. Reply fail, the above was for @Lani.

    @Cat – I agree. The most flexible systems -FUDGE comes to mind, at least the more free form variants – they allow incredible diversity in creating characters. Other pen and paper RPGs have been more limiting, but at least you can use your imagination to fit a broad number of characters into the mechanics. Thieves could be swashbucklers, cutpurses, army scouts, cat burglars – any of a number of different people.

    As a computer game, WoW has to put limits on what’s possible for a character to be, with no appeal to story. That’s a huge weakness for in-game storytelling. Like you said, the Cat in game isn’t the Cat in your head. We make choices for performance, yes, but there are many choices that aren’t even available to us.

    I feel like I’m coming off as grumpy about this, and I don’t mean too. I’ve enjoyed making stories in WoW, both in game and outside of it.

    But our relationship to our avatars is complicated. :-(

  16. May 11, 2011 11:28 am

    @perculia: I love your character concepts! It’s really a pity that the characters in-game can’t reflect them in ability.

    The more I think about this, the more I miss LARPing.

  17. May 11, 2011 2:11 pm

    @Cyn I hadn’t thought about the aspect of class inflexibility at that angle as it relates to character creatino, but when you lay it out like that, wow.

    The Cat in my head is much richer – Perc and I really got to know each other when we discovered that our wow mains are essentially twins in appearance (Armory us, seriously) and we started working on our characters’ backstories to develop a relationship for them in the game world that mirrored our own new IRL friendship that was forming (we found out through talking that we had a lot of shared experiences irl, as well as a lot of shared favorite places in game, namely Dire Maul).

    We’re both drawn to making characters with “odd hybrid backstories” – this probably breaks lore a million ways from Sunday, but Cat was originally an apprentice in Eldre’Thalas, though never fully initiated as a mage as the Sundering happened before her training was completed (ie she was taught about wielding the arcane in theory, just not in practice and so she never underwent the physical transition to Highborne).

    Ack, that comment was totally all ME ME ME RP backstory, sorry about that. :X

  18. May 11, 2011 4:30 pm

    @ Lani
    I definitely plan on posting some of my findings with regards to Solo play in WoW, but probably in a rewritten form.
    I wasn’t looking at narrative immersion in particular though, but more broadly solo play experiences and how the MMO atmosphere affects it, say is playing alone/being alone in WoW a social experience at all and how so etc?
    One of the respondents I spoke to brought up the narrative component, and it is well aligned with your article.

    Also, narratology is not my strong point, so I’m eager to learn more. Your post was very helpful to me, to understand more about how quests, player characters and so on work in WoW, so I’m very thankful :)

  19. May 12, 2011 5:55 am

    @Katherinne — I don’t believe one can’t easily compare player interaction in Star Wars canon to Warcraft lore. In Star Wars, every game puts the player in the role of a named hero or heroine. You, the player, are put into a roleplaying scenario with a predetermined character. Thus, every single character is eventually incorporated into the canon in one way or another. That doesn’t mean that the franchise hasn’t had its share of retcons, but most Star Wars retcons have had nothing to do with player characters and are Mr. Lucas’ personal preference on how things should be explained. That is what makes The Old Republic so interesting because it’s a new experiment through MMOs that may enable players to affect how the canon develops.

    @Lani — Perhaps another aspect of player characters to consider is the few instances where players have been given in-game tributes, such as Caylee Dak or Breanni.

  20. Lani permalink*
    May 12, 2011 8:03 am

    @Cyn That’s a good point about WoW’s class inflexibility vs. the ability to race/gender change as opposed to other RPGs. I would add though that I think WoW’s gender change option is great, because gender isn’t necessarily fixed for people in their real lives, so it’s pretty neat that the option to change it exists in-game. Potential trans narratives in WoW RP!

    @ironyca Yay! I’m glad to hear you’ll be posting some of your results, that would be something I’d love to read. I’m glad the post gave you some ideas!

    @Loronar In-game player tributes are an interesting case. Most of the time player tributes don’t have a direct effect on plot; usually the added PCs are vendors, or they might give a minor quest or two. The player characters that do make it around those constraints usually belong to Blizzard employees. Flintlocke is a good example; the man who wrote that comic is now the lead world designer for Cataclysm. Some of the “NPCs” of the WoW card game are employee player characters, too. There is definitely a blurry line between NPCs and PCs, but for the most part PCs that become NPCs don’t become major lore figures.

  21. May 12, 2011 10:32 am

    I hadn’t really thought about it before, but at least 3 of us have some kind of class mashup that can’t be represented in game in our backstories. Perc is a rogue demonhunter, Cat is an arcane druid, and Norm was meant to be a shaman and freaked out her family when she manifested druidic powers instead. (… meaning mostly that she turned into a bear and got stuck while she was supposed to be on a vision quest.)

Trackbacks

  1. Fossil Fragments: Clues to the Past, Reminders of Mortality « Flavor Text
  2. Digital Folk Art: Fan Art and Collective Memory in Warcraft « Flavor Text
  3. The narrative of the player character: the balancing act « Flavor Text
  4. The narrative of the player character: from the many to the few « Flavor Text
  5. Sharing the Spotlight – Solo Play pt. 3 | Ironyca Stood in the Fire

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

