Skip to content

And now for something completely different!

October 28, 2011
by

Once upon a time, I was a graphic design major. Due to being critted by a complicated fustercluck of life circumstances when I was about 20, I had to abandon that career path. I sadly stopped doing much creative writing and visual art around that time, too — the demands of my degree (and later, grad school) sapped most of my energy for those sorts of activities. Changing my major is one of the big regrets I have in my life.

About this time last year, I got an email from Blizzard that helped me reclaim a part of myself that I thought I’d lost, in terms of my writing.

This year, I’ve come back from Blizzcon feeling full of creative, positive energy. I want to harness it to heal another part of myself, but I need your help. I know myself well, and frankly, I NEED DEADLINES. I need to be held accountable for creative projects.

So (and this is a little scary) I’m going out on a limb here. If idk mai bff Mordent Evenshade can help me out with personal growth via the writing contest, why can’t drawing portraits of the people who have come to mean so much to me?

I have never done any sort of Warcraft fan art before, so this is kind of scary for me.  I’m not going to charge, but please bear in mind that I do have a full-time job, a loving husband, and two hours’ worth of commute time. As such, I’ve set myself a deadline of getting five bust portraits done before Christmas. Full color.

Below are some samples of my work.

EDIT:

FULL UP!  Pewter, Cynwise, Rades  Restoisepic and Misaweha, thank you! We’ll see how this goes before I offer more. 

If you want to take a chance, take a chance, take a chance on me, leave a comment. These will be digital paintings.

Horsehead from Piazza Navona, Rome, Sharpie, 2008.

Dragon, chalk pastel, 2010.

Not Quite Green Man, chalk pastel, 2010

Horned Owl, 2011. My first foray with a Wacom tablet.

FANGIRLY SKETCH OF TIM BURGESS, pencil, 1999.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 9:48 am

    Oh oh oh. Caenerys or #grimbuttowls or I could let some one else go first ;) can’t wait to see the general end results

  2. October 28, 2011 9:49 am

    Your pictures look very good and certainly have a style of their own. I would love to see what you made of a tree form (old not new) druid, I think your style would fit the flowing branches and leave very well. Good luck with any drawing/painting/arty stuff you do undertake :) (as a complete idiot when it comes to art I find it amazing that anyone can wave a brush or mouse and make pretty pictures :D )

  3. October 28, 2011 9:51 am

    Are you looking for in-game portraits, or real person portraits? I’m interested!

  4. October 28, 2011 10:02 am

    Bravo, Cat! I love that you are challenging yourself in this way. Revitalizing a passion in something you love that you haven’t been able to do is so awesome. Before I started my WoW blog, I had stopped doing any creative writing for a few years, for RL reasons, school, etc. Being able to return to “full-time” writing has been one of my favorite side effects of WoW, really. Anyway, your art is great! – I think I have seen the owl before – and I can’t wait to see your WoW portraits! :D

  5. October 28, 2011 10:03 am

    Cue my “I knew Cat when..” line. ;)

    I was going to ask you for some artistic rendering a while ago, although by now I forget for what. It was on a whim and I know that stuff isn’t your day job, so at the time I expected you to say “no” about as much as you might say “yes.” I just can’t remember what it was.

    Anyway, good luck with this. :)

  6. October 28, 2011 10:20 am

    Godspeed, Cat! The joy of creating is fantastic, and I’m glad you “got the bug” for creative works!

  7. October 28, 2011 11:58 am

    @Cyn – ingame portraits.

    @Erorus – TRY AND REMEMBER.

  8. October 28, 2011 12:18 pm

    GASP I SOMEHOW MISSED THAT YOU WERE LOOKING FOR POTENTIAL ART PEOPLES. If you wanted to artify my Death Knight or Hunter I would be thrilled! :D

  9. October 28, 2011 12:19 pm

    ARMORY PLX.

  10. October 28, 2011 1:03 pm

    Here’s my armory, but I hate my gear, so here’s a second reference picture as well!

    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/drenden/morgion/simple

    http://pureawesome.net/wow/morgionwmv.jpg

  11. October 28, 2011 1:31 pm

    Do you still need one more? My character Mishaweha would certainly love some more portraiting. >.>

  12. October 28, 2011 1:38 pm

    @Mishaweha Sure! I’d love to try drawing a Tauren! It looks like the people who have requested drawings span a range of races, which is really exciting.

    OKAY SO. PEOPLE. Tell me about your character’s personality!

  13. Mattias permalink
    October 28, 2011 1:45 pm

    I would take one if there’s still a slot, Miss Cat? :3

  14. October 28, 2011 1:46 pm

    I’m afraid I’m full up now! :( But hopefully this will be the first of many posts!

  15. October 28, 2011 2:02 pm

    How much detail? :O As a DK, Morgion is the classic SUPER bitter Forsaken, since she’s died and been enslaved by the Lich King TWICE. In life, she was a Paladin, super happy and cheerful and fought to protect her loved ones. After being raised as a Forsaken, the fact that her former friends & family now hated her almost destroyed her, since she had been fighting for them. And she could no longer use the Light. But she rededicated / retrained herself as a Warrior, and adopted a new cause, protecting her new undead brothers & sisters.

    And then she died AGAIN and is like, really? Really, world? Y U SO MEAN TO ME, WORLD. Now, she’s more weary than anything else. As a Forsaken, she still felt emotional about her fellow undead, she felt anger towards Arthas, was still hurt by humanity’s betrayal. But now? She’s basically just empty inside. She feels no remorse about killing, but neither does she get any joy or pleasure out of it. She also doesn’t get attached to anything/anyone now, since twice, everything has been stripped away from her.

    She still fights for the Forsaken and the Horde, because they are still her allies (and because what else is she going to do), but she doesn’t really derive any satisfaction out of it. Mostly she fights because she’s a soldier and that’s all she knows, and fighting/war is the only thing left to her. The only reason she

    TLDR: Emotionless, cold, detached. Pretty deal solder for Sylvanas. ;D

  16. October 28, 2011 8:13 pm

    I am totes claiming a spot in the next round, if there is one. >_> *sits here stalking you*

    Seriously, though, best of luck finding this spark again and OMG I can’t wait to see the results.

  17. October 28, 2011 9:11 pm

    Yey for drawing!

    I wrote this post about Mishaweha awhile ago, and it probably still holds true: http://andallofthem.wordpress.com/2010/06/18/meet-mishaweha/

    I’ll paraphrase what I wrote there, since I wrote a lot.

    Mishaweha is a Shaman who will someday be one of the spiritual leaders of her tribe. Right now she’s off doing adventurous things for the Horde (all part of the training).

    She is usually calm, quiet, and reserved, especially around strangers. Few things catch her off guard, though her ears and tail often betray her true emotion. She usually tries to make sure everyone else gets along well, and will try to act as a mediator if there is trouble. Sometimes her temper gets the better of her, and she’ll give a good scolding to those who deserve it. It is in her nature to help others, which is part of the reason she uses her connection with nature to heal.

    Also, if you want to take a look see, here’s a piece that Vidyala did for me during a Secret Santa Art Exchange (which you should totally do if there’s another one this year!) http://andallofthem.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/secret-santa-art-trade-2010/

    Hope this helps!

  18. October 29, 2011 12:06 am

    Did my comment regarding a tree form count as a claim Cat? :)

  19. Narci permalink*
    October 29, 2011 2:10 am

    “The only reason she”

    Morgion, the horse_ebooks authorized biography!

  20. October 29, 2011 9:21 am

    It did indeed! Any excuse to illustrate (ha, see wut I did thar) my druid solidarity.

  21. November 4, 2011 7:13 am

    I tried to DM you on Twitter Cat but apparently I can only DM my followers ^^ so I will post it here instead :) I have some ToL screenies if you want them. Just drop me an email to restoisepic@gmail.com and I will send them along to you if you need them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

